Pennsylvania’s foremost resource for adoption information, referral services, support, and education
• Applicants are required to be between the ages of 21 and 60. Although there is no age limit, an adoptive or foster parent must be at least 21 years old.
• Couples or single women and men, with our without children, may apply for adoption. (Both parents must apply and both must complete all procedures and paperwork in order to be placed with a child.)
o A “single person” is defined as one who is widowed, divorced, never married or does not have an identified partner.
• Applicants are required to have a stable income sufficient to meet existing family needs.
• Applicants may own or rent their home.
• Applications are accepted from persons residing within a two hour radius of Pittsburgh.
• Persons who are active with the protective services unit of a child welfare agency are NOT eligible to adopt or foster.
• Applicants must be in reasonable good health. A physician must complete an agency health form and TB test for all adults 18 years or older living in the applicant’s household. A physical form or official statement of good health is also required for all children in the applicant’s household.
• No parent or any member of the family household may have been convicted of any offense related to child abuse or other violent assaultive behavior. A police clearance, child abuse registry clearance and FBI Clearance of all applicants and household members age 14 and over is required by Pennsylvania state law.
• Applicant approval shall be made without regard to race, color, religious creed, disability, ancestry, national origin (including limited English proficiency), age, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression.